Not all knots are created equal

I have been having some interesting realizations this past week about the different instructions for the same knots.  There are two knots, the Prosperity Knot and the Cross Knot, that I have found completely different instructions for creating them.  The Prosperity Knot in the Millidot book is a weaving method; the same knot in the back of the Chinese DIY97  book starts with a double coin, has a few twists and turns and then the cords are woven down through the set-up.  The finished knot in each is identical and the decision as to which to use would be personal preference.  For me, I find the Millidot version a bit  tedious; however, the DIY version makes so much sense that it is a breeze. 

The Cross Knot was one that I was having a mental block with.  I just could not, with any consistency, tie this knot the Millidot way and get good results.  One afternoon, I was flipping through the Chinese DIY12 and found the Cross knot combination that I used for the wall hanging in last weeks post.  Because I wanted to do this combination, I decided I had to figure out how to make the knot.  Using their instructions, I made it through the first knot with no problems, and then the second, the third…  Because I was finally becoming one with this knot, I stopped and really looked at the instructions.  DIY starts laying the knot vertically and Millidot starts horizontally.  The difference is that the 4-corner side of the DIY version is the front of the knot whereas the cross is the front side of the Millidot version.  This is another knot where the final appearance is identical and the tying method is personal preference.

Then there is the Snake Knot.  I love the Snake Knot; I think it looks so elegant in a necklace.  The Millidot version yields a nicely rounded, chunky knot that lays flat and has only slight give when stretched.  The only down side is that it take a long time to make.  Since I want to do a lot of necklaces using this knot, I started looking for a quicker version.  The one that is taught in some of the Chinese books is much quicker but the outcome is very different.  It yields a smaller knot that stretches when pulled and has a natural tendancy to twist.  Plus, it could just be me, I have a difficult time getting all the knots tightened consistently so I get a somewhat knobbly appearance.

So, the bottom line is, if you find a different way to tie a knot, by all means try it.  But take note of the amount of time it takes and compare the end product of each version.  The worst thing is to try a new knot on a project and get nearly done with it and then decide that you don’t like it.  And if it sounds like I have first hand experience in this…you’re right!

I want to give a thanks to the  people who have started taking classes with me.  It has been great to ease into teaching to be able to trail my delivery and content, verbal and written instructions, and see how long it takes to teach what I have outlined.  The feedback I have been getting is invaluable and I encourage everyone to continue.  From your comments, my classes will only get better!

Last week was a lot about getting ready and actually doing some teaching.  So not a lot of projects completed.  However, I did get a few done that I’d like to share.

DSCN0182This pendant was given to me this past weekend and I had to start on it immediately.  Amethyst is one of my all time favorite stones. I decided that I wanted to showcase the pendant and use a simple knot.  I paired up a light lavendar and grey cord.  It enhances the amethyst of the pendant beautifully.

 

 

 

 

DSCN0183

David and I were invited to dine with some very special people last week and had an absolutely fabulous time.  I took one of my Chinese brocade bags with me and the hostess was intrigued that I had made the entire thing and she particularly liked the knots.  This necklace is something that I am going to give to her as a thank you for her hospitality.  The jade ball is one from Hung Hom.  I liked the squareness of the pan chang with the roundness of the ball and having the loops pulled out on the pan chang just softens the edges just a bit.

 

with hunter green cord

I have been working a lot with my jade and burnt jade.  The camel color I did with this same piece looks so wonderful it is hard to think of anything else.  However, this hunter green is amazing too.  Since these two, I have been stepping out with color and burnt jade.  I have a lime green and purple combination in work as well as a dusty pink and grey brown.  I’ve got a challenge for you; go through your knotting cords and pull out the most wild colors you have and pair them up with a piece of burnt jade or pendant.  Color is fun and you may be pleasantly surprised with the outcome!

David and I are off to Bangkok this weekend for a bit of a break.  It has been years since we’ve been in the city and are really looking forward to it.  We used to visit Bangkok often when my work colleagues lived there.  We will be headed straight to Sukhumvit Road after we arrive on Friday for a good look at the antique shops and street stalls, Saturday  is set aside for a  walk through Chatuchek Market and I’m sure by Sunday, we’re going to need a good foot massage!

Wishing you all a good week!

Leave a comment